Confession: I Heart Mindy Kaling

Over the last year, I started developing a girl crush* on Mindy Kaling after following her on Twitter. She is one funny lady, and someone who I’d love to meet. So, I considered it fate when my friend Megan mentioned how hysterical her blog, The Concerns of Mindy Kaling, is. I googled it immediately. 

Here’s a snippet:

“Since I turned twelve or thirteen, my parents started giving me gold jewelry for my birthday. If you’re an Indian woman– warning, I’m about to make a massive generalization– if you’re not wearing at least two items of gold jewelry at a time, then my assumption is you were adopted by white Americans. Rocking gold bling is a huge cultural symbol of femininity in India.”

Or this one:

“I can’t believe it. It finally happened. I now live in a world where leopard print can be considered a “basic”. Yes, it was exciting when gold shoes became a staple, and who could forget when even the most conservatively dressed woman owned a pair of fitted red pants? But finding leopard print in more and more American women’s closets? That’s amazing.

It would be remiss of me not to give credit to the Kardashian sisters, whose constant wearing of leopard print, to like, church, ushered in this fantastic trend.”

Every day or so, I like to see what she’s posted. It always hilarious and kind of like sitting down for coffee with your best friend. If I were some advertising or publishing exec, I’d tell you it’s a “must-read.” And, I’d be right.

*This might be weird, but I have a long list of female celebrities that I think I could be great friends with if we met.* It includes Gwynnie, Heidi Klum, Anne Hathaway, Natalie Portman, Nicole Ritchie, Oscar PR Girl and Giada deLaurentis.

**Putting this in writing pretty much ensures that I will not make the friend cut for any of these women if we actually meet.

Leave a comment